Remixes, mashups and covers, oh my!

Sometimes I scour the pages of youtube for good covers. I’m often surprised that I like someone’s cover of a song I didn’t particularly enjoy to begin with. Mostly all I find is crappy acoustic guitar covers, but occasionally I strike gold. Speaking of gold……

1. Kanye West’s Gold digger mashed with Beethoven’s fifth symphony. Nuff said:

2.  I first heard this Dolly Parton song with Jack White on vocals at a White Stripes concert. I’ve been a fan ever since, and for some reason I completely love this Miley Cyrus version.

3. If you like Cake, this is fantastic. It took a few listens to get past the difference in tempo from the original, but I’m a huge fan.

4. Do you like the Legend of Zelda and hip hop? Check out Ocarina of Rhyme, an entire album of beats mixed from the video game soundtrack. The album features some huge names like Snoop Dogg, Jay Z, and Dr. Dre. This might be my favorite track:

5. Just in case you were living under a rock when this made its way around the internet, Walk off the earth’s cover of Gotye’s Somebody That I Used to Know is well worth watching:

6. I love the Shins, and I love the Postal Service, so of course I’m a sucker for a Shins cover of a postal Service song. Cheers:

7. A homeless man comes into a radio studio, and belts out one of the more haunting versions of Creep I’ve ever heard:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment