A new 30-day goal, increase productivity, decrease facebook/email time!

31 days ago now, I decided to commit to brushing my teeth twice a day. It wasn’t the most challenging of goals, but certainly something worth doing! I suspect future Matt will be extremely grateful for savings in dental bills, pain and hassle. I even went above and beyond and bought some floss picks from Costco (which I’ve used several times, but not every night), and scheduled a cleaning for next Tuesday.

One of goals for 2013-2014 is to set a new goal every 30 days that will improve my life. This month I’ll be taking on a slightly more difficult challenge. Awhile ago I read Tim Ferris’ book The 4-hour workweek. In it, he describes a number of productivity tools he uses to increase efficiency, and therefore cut total time spent at work. Some of the biggest villains from his book: Meetings, and failure to batch similar activities to complete them in an efficient manner. 

Image

Goodbye FB, see you tonight!

Working for a Quaker organization makes meetings seem inevitable, but one of the easier changes, according to Mr. Ferris is batch emails by committing to only checking twice a day. This is a concept that makes sense to me. I spend tons of time being distracted by the latest email to come in. For some reason, each new email feels urgent, and necessitates an immediate disruption in whatever else I’m doing. I’m sure this makes both my total time spent reading and responding to emails greater, and the other projects I’m working on slower. Well, no more, (at least for the next month!) I will be checking both my work on personal emails only twice a day. And in order to make this a meaningful exercise, I’ll be applying the same rules to my Facebook account. 

I’ll be checking work emails at 10:30 AM and 2 PM. Personal email will be checked at 10:30 AM and sometime between 7 and 9:30 PM (after dinner, but not right before bed). If you desperately need to contact me before my next scheduled check, give me a call!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new 30-day goal, increase productivity, decrease facebook/email time!

  1. Blake says:

    I recommend SelfControl to lock yourself out of Facebook & Gmail: http://selfcontrolapp.com

  2. Pingback: I’m too young to spend this much time sitting down doing nothing! | Always Hungry

Leave a Reply

