We don’t need no stinkin’ Ikea

I’ve always wanted to be something of a handyman, but I have no training or experience. So, when our old Ikea standing closet collapsed into many pieces in a freak moving-it from-the-living-room-to-the-bedroom accident, I told Helen I would build her a new one. I’ve never built a closet before, but I figured it couldn’t be that difficult, so I went to Home Depot and started picking out pieces of wood.

Fortunately for me a Home Depot employee named Joe D took an interest in my project. It turns out Joe was a carpenter, and had far superior knowledge about what goes into the building of a closet than I did. With his help, I was able to put together the following:

Image

ImageImage

Image

Helen, looking happy to have a new closet

Image

Image

My friend Ariel came over, and was kind enough to help out

Image

Supporting the shelf

Image

I could use a ladder, and a higher ceiling.

Image

Is it level?

Image

Nailing the sides on

Image

Victory!

Image

Finished (for now)

Image

“Mistake number 8”

When I come back from camp, I’ll add a bar at the top so that a curtain can hang in front. I’ll also flip the rod the clothes are hanging from (it’s upside down right now), and probably stain the whole thing (which I probably should’ve done first). Many thanks to Helen and Ariel for all their help!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We don’t need no stinkin’ Ikea

  1. That’s one fine looking closet you built there. If you want to stain it in place, my dad might be able to lend you some plastic drop-cloths. Just, you know, open a few windows and put a fan on.

Leave a Reply

